Mercy (Rechem in Hebrew and Rahem in Arabic)

Rechem in the Hebrew language means to have deep compassion and to love so deeply… in the Arabic Language (Rahem) is to forgive and also wonderfully is the womb of a mother same apply to the Hebrew language also. When thinking of a womb what comes to mind is gentleness, tender love and care, watchfulness, sensitivity to need and every movement, security and protection from harm. Mercy in general is unearned and undeserved act of forgiveness and act of kindness from a person that is generally been wronged. Mercy provides protection from wrath. We should always be ready to show mercy to all people. Unlike men God is merciful and compassionate, always ready to forgive and bless and is delighted with mercy. We cry to God for mercy and forgiveness and help of time of distress.

I find a great irony in the meaning of Rechem (Mercy) being a mother womb and how abortion is so widespread throughout the world, this is immoral and unmerciful to a helpless child as the eastern culture depicts this action…

Another word in the Hebrew language is Chesed, which means to be good or kind. In the Old Testament David asked for Mercy more than anyone else and in the New Testament, Paul greeted with this word many times normally with it’s sister word grace (Grace and Mercy)… Another word in the Hebrew/Arabic languages is Chanan/Hanan means to bend over to show affection and love (Chana/Hanato is to bend at the waste/to bow) in the New Testament, Jesus Christ is our source of mercy and forgiveness. Mercy is synonymous with the redemption of Jesus Christ to us, in the New Testament.

Scriptures

Old Testament

  • Exo 33:18  Then Moses said, “Now show me your glory.” Exo 33:19  And the LORD said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the LORD, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.
  • Exo 34:6-7 And the LORD passed by before him, and proclaimed, The LORD, The LORD God, merciful and gracious, longsuffering, and abundant in goodness and truth, {7} Keeping mercy for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin, and that will by no means clear the guilty; visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children, and upon the children’s children, unto the third and to the fourth generation.
  • 2Sa 24:12  “Go and tell David, ‘This is what the LORD says: I am giving you three options. Choose one of them for me to carry out against you.'” 2Sa 24:13  So Gad went to David and said to him, “Shall there come upon you three years of famine in your land? Or three months of fleeing from your enemies while they pursue you? Or three days of plague in your land? Now then, think it over and decide how I should answer the one who sent me.” 2Sa 24:14  David said to Gad, “I am in deep distress. Let us fall into the hands of the LORD, for his mercy is great; but do not let me fall into the hands of men.”
  • Job 9:15  Though I were innocent, I could not answer him; I could only plead with my Judge for mercy.
  • Psa 5:7  But I, by your great mercy, will come into your house; in reverence will I bow down toward your holy temple.
  • Psa 6:9  The LORD has heard my cry for mercy; the LORD accepts my prayer.
  • Psa 9:13  O LORD, see how my enemies persecute me! Have mercy and lift me up from the gates of death,
  • Psa 40:11  Do not withhold your mercy from me, O LORD; may your love and your truth always protect me.
  • Psa 41:4  I said, “O LORD, have mercy on me; heal me, for I have sinned against you.”
  • Psa 51:1  For the director of music. A psalm of David. When the prophet Nathan came to him after David had committed adultery with Bathsheba. Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions.
  • Psa 57:1  For the director of music. To the tune of “Do Not Destroy.” Of David. A miktam. When he had fled from Saul into the cave. Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me, for in you my soul takes refuge. I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings until the disaster has passed.
  • Psa 79:8  Do not hold against us the sins of the fathers; may your mercy come quickly to meet us, for we are in desperate need.
  • Psa 86:3  Have mercy on me, O Lord, for I call to you all day long.
  • Psa 116:1  I love the LORD, for he heard my voice; he heard my cry for mercy.
  • Psa 123:3  Have mercy on us, O LORD, have mercy on us, for we have endured much contempt.
  • Psa 130:2  O Lord, hear my voice. Let your ears be attentive to my cry for mercy.
  • Psa 143:1  A psalm of David. O LORD, hear my prayer, listen to my cry for mercy; in your faithfulness and righteousness come to my relief.
  • Pro 28:13  He who conceals his sins does not prosper, but whoever confesses and renounces them finds mercy.
  • Neh 9:31  But in your great mercy you did not put an end to them or abandon them, for you are a gracious and merciful God.
  • Psa 26:11  But I lead a blameless life; redeem me and be merciful to me.
  • Dan 9:18  Give ear, O God, and hear; open your eyes and see the desolation of the city that bears your Name. We do not make requests of you because we are righteous, but because of your great mercy.
  • Hos 6:6  For I desire mercy, not sacrifice, and acknowledgment of God rather than burnt offerings.
  • Amo 5:15  Hate evil, love good; maintain justice in the courts. Perhaps the LORD God Almighty will have mercy on the remnant of Joseph.
  • Mic 6:8  He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.
  • Mic 7:18  Who is a God like you, who pardons sin and forgives the transgression of the remnant of his inheritance? You do not stay angry forever but delight to show mercy.
  • Zec 7:9  “This is what the LORD Almighty says: ‘Administer true justice; show mercy and compassion to one another.

New Testament

  • Mat 5:7  Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.
  • Mat 9:13  But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”
  • Mat 9:27  As Jesus went on from there, two blind men followed him, calling out, “Have mercy on us, Son of David!”
  • Mat 12:7  If you had known what these words mean, ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice,’ you would not have condemned the innocent.
  • Mat 15:22  A Canaanite woman from that vicinity came to him, crying out, “Lord, Son of David, have mercy on me! My daughter is suffering terribly from demon-possession.”
  • Mat 17:15  “Lord, have mercy on my son,” he said. “He has seizures and is suffering greatly. He often falls into the fire or into the water.
  • Mat 18:33  Shouldn’t you have had mercy on your fellow servant just as I had on you?’
  • Mat 5:7  Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.
  • Luk 6:36  Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.
  • Heb 2:17  For this reason he had to be made like his brothers in every way, in order that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, and that he might make atonement for the sins of the people. Heb 2:18  Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.
  • Mat 20:31  The crowd rebuked them and told them to be quiet, but they shouted all the louder, “Lord, Son of David, have mercy on us!”
  • Mat 23:23  “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You give a tenth of your spices—mint, dill and cummin. But you have neglected the more important matters of the law—justice, mercy and faithfulness. You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former.
  • Mar 5:18  As Jesus was getting into the boat, the man who had been demon-possessed begged to go with him. Mar 5:19  Jesus did not let him, but said, “Go home to your family and tell them how much the Lord has done for you, and how he has had mercy on you.”
  • Luk 1:50  His mercy extends to those who fear him, from generation to generation.
  • Luk 10:30  In reply Jesus said: “A man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho, when he fell into the hands of robbers. They stripped him of his clothes, beat him and went away, leaving him half dead.Luk 10:31  A priest happened to be going down the same road, and when he saw the man, he passed by on the other side.Luk 10:32  So too, a Levite, when he came to the place and saw him, passed by on the other side.Luk 10:33  But a Samaritan, as he traveled, came where the man was; and when he saw him, he took pity on him.Luk 10:34  He went to him and bandaged his wounds, pouring on oil and wine. Then he put the man on his own donkey, took him to an inn and took care of him.Luk 10:35  The next day he took out two silver coins and gave them to the innkeeper. ‘Look after him,’ he said, ‘and when I return, I will reimburse you for any extra expense you may have.’Luk 10:36  “Which of these three do you think was a neighbor to the man who fell into the hands of robbers?”Luk 10:37  The expert in the law replied, “The one who had mercy on him.” Jesus told him, “Go and do likewise.”
  • Rom 9:14  What then shall we say? Is God unjust? Not at all! Rom 9:15  For he says to Moses, “I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.” Rom 9:16  It does not, therefore, depend on man’s desire or effort, but on God’s mercy.
  • Rom 12:1  Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.
  • Rom 12:6  We have different gifts, according to the grace given us. If a man’s gift is prophesying, let him use it in proportion to his faith. Rom 12:7  If it is serving, let him serve; if it is teaching, let him teach; Rom 12:8  if it is encouraging, let him encourage; if it is contributing to the needs of others, let him give generously; if it is leadership, let him govern diligently; if it is showing mercy, let him do it cheerfully.
  • 1Ti 1:13  Even though I was once a blasphemer and a persecutor and a violent man, I was shown mercy because I acted in ignorance and unbelief. 1Ti 1:14  The grace of our Lord was poured out on me abundantly, along with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus. 1Ti 1:15  Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners—of whom I am the worst. 1Ti 1:16  But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life.
  • Tit 3:5  he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, Tit 3:6  whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, Tit 3:7  so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.
  • Jas 2:12  Speak and act as those who are going to be judged by the law that gives freedom, Jas 2:13  because judgment without mercy will be shown to anyone who has not been merciful. Mercy triumphs over judgment!
  • Jas 3:17  But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere.
  • Jas 5:11  As you know, we consider blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job’s perseverance and have seen what the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy.
  • 1Pe 1:3  Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead,
  • 1Pe 2:10  Once you were not a people, but now you are the people of God; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.
  • Jud 1:21  Keep yourselves in God’s love as you wait for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ to bring you to eternal life.
  • Jud 1:22  Be merciful to those who doubt; Jud 1:23  snatch others from the fire and save them; to others show mercy, mixed with fear—hating even the clothing stained by corrupted flesh. Jud 1:24  To him who is able to keep you from falling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy—Jud 1:25  to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen.
About lovepeacetruth

Seeker
This entry was posted in Apologetics, Biblical Imagery, Biblical Topics, Hebraic Theology, Hebrew Words, It is Cultural, Prayer Topic, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mercy (Rechem in Hebrew and Rahem in Arabic)

  1. Pingback: Abraham!!! What does this name actually means? | lovepeacetruth

  2. Nformbu Joshua says:

    Am soo grateful to God Almighty for this Holy Spirit package which has lighten my life. I can say my true repentance begins from today after this message. I found out that I was truely leaving in darkness. THANKS

    • Blessings Joshua;

      One thing I can say about my history with Christianity, it really does not save (It is a religion)… True Salvation comes from Christ not Christianity, the only qualification that make us Christians (Which means Christ Like) is the exact word you used (Holy Spirit) a person that claims that he/she is Christian but not have the Holy Spirit is actually not a Christian despite of what he/she calls him/her self… Christianity is not religion it is a relationship with the Living Word of GOD, AKA the Spirit of Christ, AKA the Holy Spirit… GOD’s message to us all is LOVE and JESUS is the ultimate manifestation of his love to all humanity… GOD bless you and indwell in you as you discover his heart for you

  3. Exo 25:17 And thou shalt make a mercy-seat of pure gold: two cubits and a half shall be the length thereof, and a cubit and a half the breadth thereof. (God’s thrown is called mercy seat not punishment seat)
    Hebrews 4:16 Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.
    Mat 9:13 But go ye and learn what this meaneth, I desire mercy, and not sacrifice, for I came not to call the righteous, but sinners.

Leave a Reply

